close Ad
Connect with us


Arabian Gulf League awards nominees announced

Online voting for the six categories open from today

The Pro League Committee has announced the preliminary shortlist of nominees for six Arabian Gulf League Awards categories. Voting for the nominees starts on Sunday, April 15 and closes on the 22nd of the month. A three-man shortlist based on the voting will be announced on April 23 and the winners will be announced in the Arabian Gulf League Awards ceremony on May 10.
Voting for the six categories will be available through the website with participation of football experts, club captains and coaches, media and fans to select five nominess from each category.

The preliminary shortlist for the Golden Ball Award (Best Emirati Player) includes; Ali Mabkhout from Al Jazira; Rayan Yaslam, Omar Abdulrahman, Ismael Ahmed and Mohannad Salem from Al Ain; Ahmed Ibrahim, Khalifa Mubarak and Mahmoud Khamis from Al Nasr; Mohammed Marzooq from Shabab Al Ahli and Salem Al Azizi from Al Wasl.

Competing on the Golden Ball Award for (Best Foreign Player) are; Marcus Berg and Caio Fernandez from Al Ain; Fabio de Lima and Caio Canedo from Al Wasl; Sebastian Tagliabue, Mourad Batna, Balasz Dzsudzsak and Rim Chang-woo from Al Wahda; Marcelo da Silva from Al Nasr and Romarinho from Al Jazira.


The shortlist for the Leader Award for (Best Coach) includes; Zoran Mamic from Al Ain, Laurentiu Reghecampf from Al Wahda, Rodolfo Arruabarrena from Al Wasl, Abdulaziz Al Anbari from Sharjah and Henk ten Cate from Al Jazira.

The Golden Boy Award for (Best Young Player, born on or after 1997) is contested between Mohammed Al Shamsi, Khaled Ibrahim, Ahmed Al Akbari and Ahmed Rashid from Al Wahda; Jassim Yaqoob from Al Nasr; Mohammed Al Attas and Zayed Al Ameri from Al Jazira; Omar Saeed from Hatta; Ali Saleh from Al Wasl and Majed Suroor from Sharjah.

Finally, five goalkeepers compete for the Golden Glove Award for (Best Goalkeeper); Khaled Eisa from Al Ain, Mohammed Al Shamsi from Al Wahda, Majed Nasser from Shabab Al Ahli, Ahmed Shambih from Al Nasr and Fahd Al Dhanhani from Dibba.

The nominees for these five categories were selected based on statistics by Sportradar, the statistics partner of the Pro League Committee. Players performances were evaluated based on specific criteria including position, goals scored, passing accuracy, assists, saves and fair play (disciplinary record).

The nominees for the Fans’ Player of the Year Award were chosen based on fans nominations in the first stage that lasted between 8 and 12 of April, where fans of the various Arabian Gulf League sides competed on supporting their favourite players through the PLC’s official social media pages. Ten players were nominated in this category; Hussein El Shahat, Omar Abdulrahman and Marcus Berg from Al Ain; Mbark Boussoufa from Al Jazira; Fabio de Lima from Al Wasl; Mohammed Al Shamsi, Mourad Batna and Sebastian Tagliabue from Al Wahda; Yasseen Mahmoud from Dibba and Youssef Kalfa from Emirates.

The Arabian Gulf League Awards are divided into two sections; the vote-based awards which include the aforementioned six categories, and the stats-based awards which include; the Dream Team – the Best XI of players who excelled in their positions, the Golden Shoe Award for the Arabian Gulf League top goalscorer, the Silver Shoe Award for the Arabian Gulf Reserve League top goalscorer, the Arabian Gulf League Fantasy Manager of the Season, the Club Licensing Award and the Online Content Award.


ball image